Readers ask: Horry County Sheriff Department How Many Officers?

Horry County Police Department
Population 269,2611
Operational structure
Sworn members 281
Agency executives Joseph R Hill, Chief Lance Winburn, Deputy Chief


How many police officers are in Horry County?

Today the Horry County Police Department is composed of 316 of men and women, of which, 281 are sworn officers. The department operates under an annual budget of nearly $20M which is funded through several different fiscal resources.

Is Sheriff higher than officer?

The main difference between a deputy sheriff and a police officer is jurisdiction. A police officer is solely responsible for the prevention of crime within their city limits, whereas a deputy sheriff is responsible for an entire county, which could include multiple small towns and several larger cities.

Who is the sheriff of Horry County SC?

About Your Sheriff Sheriff Phillip E. Thompson is a 42-year veteran of law enforcement and gained his experience with both the Myrtle Beach and Horry County Police Departments before being elected Sheriff of Horry County in January of 2001.

You might be interested:  Who Is Sheriff In Vandalia Il?

How many law enforcement officers are in South Carolina?

This is a list of law enforcement agencies in the state of South Carolina. According to the US Bureau of Justice Statistics’ 2022 ‘Census of State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies, the state had 272 law enforcement agencies employing 11,674 sworn police officers, about 259 for each 100,000 residents.

Do I have a warrant in Horry County?

Whom can I contact to find out if a warrant I signed has been served? Call the Horry County Police Department Warrant Division at 843-915-8347.

What police department covers Murrells Inlet SC?

Horry County Police Administration “This police department regularly operates in a less than honorable way.

Who is above the sheriff’s department?

The sheriff is the top ranking officer in the department and is almost always an elected official. The assistant sheriff or under-sheriff is the next in line of police ranks in the department, followed by division chief, captain, lieutenant, sergeant, corporal and deputy.

What’s the difference between sheriff and deputy sheriff?

A sheriff is an elected law enforcement officer who will serve a term of service that is usually four years long. Deputy sheriffs work under the sheriff to enforce federal, state, and local laws within their jurisdiction. A deputy sheriff doesn’t have the leadership and management responsibilities of a sheriff.

How much does a deputy sheriff make?

As of June 2018, the median wage for a deputy sheriff was $42,888, and earnings ranged from $30,143 to $73,072 a year, according to Pay can depend on the size of the population served, location and experience level.

You might be interested:  FAQ: What App Is Good For Listening To Police, Fire And Sheriff Calls?

Who is in charge of Horry County?

Administrator. The Horry County Administrator is Steve Gosnell. Mr. Gosnell oversees over thirty departments in the county under the three divisions – public safety, administration and infrastructure and regulation (I&R).

Where is Horry County South Carolina?

Horry County is the central county in the Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach, SC-NC Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is in the Pee Dee region of South Carolina, about 90 miles north of Charleston, South Carolina and about 130 miles east of the state capital Columbia.

What county is Conway SC in?

Since it was centrally located, Conwayborough was selected as the county seat for Horry County in 1801. The name was shortened to Conway in 1883. Its location on the river is still important to Conway today.

How many sheriffs are in South Carolina?

SCSA was established in 1913 to provide support and training services to the 46 Sheriffs of South Carolina. Promoting public and community safety through the legislative process and community workshops and information sharing.

Which county in South Carolina has a county police department?

Established as the primary county law enforcement agency in 1959 by legislative decree and overwhelmingly re-endorsed by our citizens in a 1998 referendum, the Horry County Police Department is the only remaining county police department in the State of South Carolina.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top